Valerie Wilson Wesley, A Glimmer of Death

Award-winning author Valerie Wilson Wesley launches a thrilling new mystery series set in New Jersey, featuring a multicultural cast, and starring a caterer-turned-realtor with the gift of second sight...

In the first of a thrilling new series, one woman's extraordinary psychic gift plunges her already-troubled present into chaos—and puts her future in someone's deadly sights...

Until now, Odessa Jones' inherited ability to read emotions and foretell danger has protected her. But second sight didn't warn her she would soon be a widow—and about to lose her home and the catering business she's worked so hard to build. The only things keeping Dessa going are her love for baking and her sometimes-mellow cat, Juniper. Unfortunately, putting her life back together means taking a gig at an all-kinds-of-shady real estate firm run by volatile owner Charlie Risko...

Until Charlie is brutally killed--and Dessa's bullied co-worker is arrested for murder. Dessa can't be sure who's guilty. But it doesn't take a psychic to discover that everyone from Charlie's much-abused staff to his long-suffering younger wife had multiple reasons to want him dead. And as Dessa follows a trail of lies through blackmail, dead-end clues, and corruption, she needs to see the truth fast—or a killer will bury her deep down with it.


Valerie Wilson Wesley writes mysteries, novels and children’s books. She is the author of A Glimmer of Death, an Odessa Jones Mystery, to be published in 2021, as well as nine mysteries in the popular Tamara Hayle Mystery series . She also has written three novels and two paranormal romances under the pen name Savanna Welles. Her books for children include five books in the Willimena Rules! series, Freedom’s Gifts—A Juneteenth Story, and the Afro-bets Book of Black Heroes co-written with Wade Hudson. Her novels and mysteries are published in Germany, France, and the UK and her nonfiction has been published in magazines such as Essence and Family Circle. In 2000, she received best book for her novel Ain’t Nobody’s Business If I Do, from the American Library Black Caucus Association, and has received many awards from community organizations.  She is a former executive editor of Essence magazine.

V.M. Burns is the acclaimed author of screenplays, children’s books, and cozy mysteries, including the Dog Club Mysteries, the RJ Franklin Mysteries, and the Mystery Bookshop Series. Born and raised in South Bend, Indiana, V.M. Burns currently resides in Tennessee with her poodles. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Dog Writers Association of America, Thriller Writers International, and a lifetime member of Sisters in Crime. She can be found online at

Event date: 
Wednesday, February 3, 2021 - 7:30pm to 8:30pm
Event address: 
A Glimmer of Death (An Odessa Jones Mystery) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781496727787
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Kensington - January 26th, 2021

A Tourist's Guide to Murder (Mystery Bookshop #6) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781496728951
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (Subject to Availability)
Published: Kensington - January 26th, 2021