Maulik Pancholy, The Best at It CANCELLED

Maulik Pancholy
The Best at It
Wednesday, March 25, 5pm
CANCELLED.  Hopefully we can reschedule - stay tuned.



From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. Perfect for fans of Tim Federle’s Nate series.
Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small town in Indiana. The start of middle school is making him feel increasingly anxious, so his favorite person in the whole world, his grandfather, Bhai, gives him some well-meaning advice: Find one thing you’re really good at and become the BEST at it. Those four little words sear themselves into Rahul’s brain. While he’s not quite sure what that special thing is, he is convinced that once he finds it, bullies like Brent Mason will stop torturing him at school. And he won’t be worried about staring too long at his classmate Justin Emery. With his best friend, Chelsea, by his side, Rahul is ready to crush this challenge.... But what if he discovers he isn’t the best at anything? Funny, charming, and incredibly touching, this is a story about friendship, family, and the courage it takes to live your truth.
Maulik Pancholy is an award-winning actor whose career has spanned hit television shows (30 Rock, Weeds, Whitney), animated favorites (he is the voice of Baljeet on  Phineas and Ferb, and the voice of Sanjay on Sanjay and Craig), the Broadway stage (he most recently starred in Grand Horizons at the Helen Hayes Theater), and films. Maulik is the recipient of an Asian American Arts Alliance Award and the Human Rights Campaign's Visibility Award.  In 2014 he was apponited by President Barack Obama to serve on the President's Advisory Commission on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders.  While on the Commission, he co-founded the anti-bullying campaign acttochange.org, which he continues to Chair today. THE BEST AT IT is his debut novel. It has been named a 2020 Stonewall Honor Book, a 2019 Junior Library Guild Selection, a Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books, and has received starred reviews from Publishers WeeklyBooklist and Kirkus Reviews. Kirkus raves, “The protagonist’s devastatingly honest voice pulls readers deeply into a fast-paced journey. Heartbreakingly authentic.”
 


★ “The protagonist’s devastatingly honest voice pulls readers deeply into a fast-paced journey...  heartbreakingly authentic.”
   — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
 
★ “An impressive first novel…wholly engaging.”
   — ALA Booklist (starred review)
 
★ “This funny, uplifting story about identity… sends a powerful, positive message to young readers about choosing self-acceptance.”
   — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

 

Event date: 
Wednesday, March 25, 2020 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm
Event address: 
54 Fairfield St.
Watchung Plaza
Montclair, NJ 07042
The Best at It Cover Image
$15.29
ISBN: 9780062866417
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 8th, 2019