David K. Randall, Black Death at the Golden Gate

David K. Randall
Black Death at the Golden Gate

THe Race to Save America from the Bubonic Plague
Thursday, May 9, 7pm


Image result for black death at the golden gate
A spine-chilling saga of virulent racism, human folly, and the ultimate triumph of scientific progress.

For Chinese immigrant Wong Chut King, surviving in San Francisco meant a life in the shadows. His passing on March 6, 1900, would have been unremarkable if a city health officer hadn’t noticed a swollen black lymph node on his groin—a sign of bubonic plague. Empowered by racist pseudoscience, officials rushed to quarantine Chinatown while doctors examined Wong’s tissue for telltale bacteria. If the devastating disease was not contained, San Francisco would become the American epicenter of an outbreak that had already claimed ten million lives worldwide.

In the tradition of Erik Larson and Steven Johnson, Randall spins a spellbinding account of Blue’s race to understand the disease and contain its spread—the only hope of saving San Francisco, and the nation, from a gruesome fate.

David K. Randall is the New York Times best-selling author of Dreamland and a senior reporter at Reuters. A California native, he now lives in Montclair with his family.

““A haunting detective tale packed with villains and heroes, Black Death at the Golden Gate shows how bigotry and greed almost brought a major U.S. city to ruin―and how science and courage saved it. The events in this book may be 100 years old, but its message is as urgent as ever.”  — Jason Fagone, author of national bestseller The Woman Who Smashed Codes

"David K. Randall has created a meticulously researched history that unfolds like a thriller. I raced through this book in two days (horribly, the span of time it took bubonic plague to fell a victim). The unlikely heroes―bacteriologists and public health officers with long, flowing beards―battle villains most vile: racism, rotten politics, disregard for science, and Yersinia pestis. Black Death at the Golden Gate is both a page-turner and a cautionary tale: Those villains still lurk.” — Mary Roach, New York Times bestselling author of Grunt

Event date: 
Thursday, May 9, 2019 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm
Event address: 
54 Fairfield St.
Watchung Plaza
Montclair, NJ 07042
Black Death at the Golden Gate: The Race to Save America from the Bubonic Plague Cover Image
$24.26
ISBN: 9780393609455
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 7th, 2019